About marathon

Little Karst Marathon is an event which breaks records every year and attracts an international range of runners who would like to try their physical form after winter break.

The course of the 21098 meter long Half Marathon is diverse, not too demanding, entirely an asphalt one. The course starts in the Sežana Sports Park. The run will begin on the streets of Sežana and then turning to the road for Lipica where state border will be crossed. The course leads from Bazovica (Basovizza) to Padriče (Padriciano), Trebče (Trebiciano) and Orlek back to Sežana.

Both courses are circular ones, so that 10 kilometer competitors run a small circle, while 21 kilometer competitors run a larger circle which crosses the state border. The tracks lead through idyllic Karst landscape which makes it also a good promotion for the region. Refreshment stalls along the course provide fruit, drinks, energy drinks, sugar and biscuits for the runners. Music groups and rich accompanying program will make it easier for the runners to handle all the kilometers. Warm-up will be organized for all the runners.

The next marathon will be the 22nd Little Karst Marathon. In this time, almost 30.000 runners have participated on the half marathons and recreational runs in Sežana.

Obviously, the first year was the most difficult one due to our inexperience at organizing such an event which has now become a well-known running festival. The start and finish of the first marathon was at a different location and the course was rather rough.  In addition to this, runners needed to cross the state border with an identity card.

With a lot of hard work, we managed to bring Little Karst Marathon to the top. It has become one of the biggest and most well-known running events in Slovenia.

Marathon has not undergone a lot of changes during the years. In the second year, the start and finish was moved to the present location in the Sežana Sports Park. In the same year, the course of the Half Marathon was changed and turned in the opposite way and it has not been changed to this day.

Organization committee: Božo Dragan, Barbara Jerič, Matej Glavina, Niko Zadnik, Miha Dragan, Tom Ločniškar, Miha Penko, Marko Meden, Andreja Gulič, Jani Žiberna, Milan Papič, Niko Dolgan, Marko Svetina, Žiga Černe, Fabio Ruzzier, Luka Kafol